Baby Cardinal
Baby Cardinal

I have mentioned in my previous posts that my son will find things for me to take a photo of.  He was trimming the bushes at his Gramma’s house when a pair of Cardinals (mom and dad) were making a fuss around one of the bushes he was about to trim.  In fact, one of the cardinals poked him in the back to get him away from the bushes.  Good thing or he would have harmed the little one.  He looked around and found the nest with one baby in it.  The photo he sent me of it did not have many feathers on it, so I figured I was safe to come by the next day.  I was focusing on the little one when the baby woke up and freaked out.  I scared it so bad that it threw itself out of the nest and started running.  I am like “What the heck?!”  It stopped long enough for me to take the one and only photo.  I picked it up and put it back in the nest.  It jumped out again.  The parents are flying around me all pissed off.  I scooped it up and put it back in the nest. Went into my mother-in-laws house to wash my hands.  Came back and the parents are still pissed.  I checked the nest and the baby was gone.  I was now beginning to freak out myself.  I looked all over the ground and could not find the bird.  Looked once more in the bush and saw the baby sitting on the branch next to the nest.  I figured it was safe and left.  Didn’t want to piss the parents off anymore.

My settings: ISO1600, f5.6 and 1/1000sec

2 thoughts on “Week 21 – Becky

  1. OMG! How adorable he is and what a story! That’s a wonderful shot especially since you only had one chance! It’s always tricky around baby birds. I am glad that the baby was safe. He looks tough with that punk Mohawk ! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

